The Joys of Ham Radio

My QSL Card
Now the propagation is increasing, radios becoming a lot more interesting. Recently, I’ve gotten interested in the new mode WSPR, and it has been a lot of fun. I’ve been having quite a lot of technical problems with my radios of late. My Kenwood 2000 had a problem with its audio, and then I shipped it back. UPS crushed the radio on the way over there, and I’m having to file a claim so it looks like my luck with radios is not very good. The icon radio that I’m using the 706 Mark 2 now has an audio problem. When I listen to it after a while it has an intermittent problem that sounds like it’s switching to FM mode and the audio sounds fuzzy but still has plenty of volume and also sounds like there’s a spurious signal like when you tune to the side of someone who’s running too much power and splatter. I don’t know what the problem is but I need to talk to someone who does. Maybe one day I will get straightened out but anyway, the old Kenwood 430 is doing a good job, and I’m still relying on it. I guess the fancy new rigs have a multitude of problems.
It was excellent propagation this morning and 10 m wide open to many other parts of the wall. 10 m is his really been good of late and I’ve enjoyed it a lot.

About tladotse

I am a retired Electronics Engineer who specialized in circuit design, antenna design, reliability and maintainability. I am an amateur radio operator and also have hobbies of fishing and photography. Getting kinda old but still get around pretty well.
This entry was posted in Bad luck with radios, Digital Modes, Ham Radio, Low Bands, Propagation, Rig Problems, Sunspots, Uncategorized, W4TKI, Weak Signal Propagation Reporter, Working DX, WSPR Mode and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Joys of Ham Radio

  1. Hans says:

    Although it’s impossible to be sure from 10.000 miles away, it could be that one or two caps are about to fail. It would explain both the noise and the intermittent character of the problem. There have been some reports that C188 and C604, both rated 16 volts / 1000uf, weren’t up to the task and could burst. If so, replace them ASAP, preferably for caps rated higher than 16 volts.

    And yes, 10 meters is great lately. Not as good as in the eighties, but great nonetheless.

    Hans / PD0AC

Leave a comment